Evaluation of Atik460EX camera use in association with eShel spectrograph

Version Franaise


eShel is an chelle spectrograph manufactured by Shelyak instruments. It allows a resolving power of R = 11000 (recall, the resolving power is the ratio of the wavelength which is observed by the spectral width of the finer detail at this wavelength). The spectrometer is interfaced to the telescope by a 50 microns in diameter optical fiber. See here for a review of the spectrograph.

The spectrograph objective lens (chamber camera) is a Canon 85 mm focal length at f / 1.8. Traditionally, for these spectrograph the detector is the camera QSI-532 model (QSI company). In this case, the CCD sensor is the Kodak KAF-3200ME model. It has 2184 x 1472 pixels at 6.8 microns. A high value of this component is its high quantum efficiency, about 80% at 656 nm. The readout noise, very critical for spectrography performance, is of the order of 12 electrons rms. About the use of QSI-532 in the field of eShel spectrograph, see here.

The camera QSI-532 clearly identified three disadvantages:

- High purchase price;

- A sensor having a relatively high readout noise (good standard now rather than a few electrons of noise rather than the ten electrons);

- A strong lag phenomena.

One possible alternative for the detection is to use Sony ICX694AL CCD sensor. The key to this choice is that the sensor has a size sufficient to capture diffraction orders with sufficient overlap to build a full spectrum without hole. The detector is composed of 2749 x 2199 pixels x 4.54 microns. The Sony ICX694AL sensor size is slightly smaller than the Kodak KAF-3200ME (12.5 mm x 10.0 mm x 14.8 mm to 10.3 mm), but sufficient for our needs.



Atik460EX camera interfaced to eShel spectrograph.

Relative to Kodak detector, Sony detector has the following advantages:

- Low cost. We can found this Sony sensor in the Atik460EX camera for example (ATIK company). The present test is based on this camera;

- Low read noise of about 5 electrons;

- Total absence of lag;

- No mechanical shutter (interline sensor structure with an electronic shutter function).

In contrast, the quantum yield at 656 nm for the Sony sensor is estimated to 65% (80% for Kodak). However, the low readout noise compensate the deficit in terms of detectivity. In addition, the blue quantum efficiency of Sony sensor is superior. See here the detailed electro-optical characteristics of these components.

In the specific situation of the Atik460EX camera, the detector is cooled by a Peltier system allows only DT = 26 C  (for example, if the ambient temperature is 20 C, it will not be easy to reach the detector temperatures below -5C). Fortunately, the rate of thermal charge is relatively low in the Sony sensor.

The native pixel size in the Atik460EX is small (4.54 microns). If the spectrum is acquired in 1x1 binning mode, it is highly oversampled. Also, this acquisition mode guarantee of good spectral and photometric restitution (calibration). It is a bonus. But the full efficiency of this camera really expresses when used in 2x2 binning (the collecting surface of the pixel is then multiplied by 4, while the noise reading is unchanged). Size of "virtual" pixels (or binned pixel) in this case is 9.08 microns and sampling of the spectrum is about 0.18 A/pixel in the red (0.12 A/pixel in the blue). The FWHM (full width at half-height) of a monochromatic line is about 3.2 pixels at 656 nm, above the critical Nyquist sampling (2 pixels FWHM). The 3.2 pixels sampling per FWHM is quasi-optimal in terms of the signal to noise ratio performance.

The difficulties inherent in this camera choice are ultimately:

- orders traces very narrow, of the order of 4.5 pixels along the vertical axis of the image. This forces you to be very careful when correcting the instrumental response (blaze function correction). You really associate a set of calibration images for each observed object with a short time between shots to reduce temporal drifts of the spectrograph (thermoelastic effect). The challenge is to restore a good continuum (with good relative photometric accuracy).

- The inter-order gap is only about 17 pixels in the red. This does not facilitate the evaluation of inter-order black signal when processing spectra.

The good news is that the pixel fill factor is probably pretty basic approaches 100% despite the organization interline sensor. The probable reason is the presence of effective microlens. It was feared structural noise spectral profiles generated given the huge distortion in the spectral images of departure. There is nothing and this is an important result of this test.


Atik460EX - CCD ICX694AL
Pixel size = 4.58 m


QSI 532 - CCD KAF-3200ME
Pixel size = 6.8 m


Atik460EX - CCD ICX694AL
Pixel size = 9.08 m (binning 2 x 2)


Appearance of thorium-argon lamp spectrum in function of camera used. On the left, the camera is the Atik460EX used in 1x1 binning mode. Note that the diameter of the fiber is clearly resolved. The oversampling factor is excessive. In the center, the spectrum obtained with the QSI-532 camera. Right, the spectrum given by the camera Atik460EX operated in 2x2 binning mode. This is the recommended mode for enhanced detectability.

The question of optimal binning factor is important (bin 1x1 or 2x2). Unquestionably, the 2x2 binning gives the maximal detectivity if we consider only readout noise (gain of 1.4 in SNR relative to 1x1 binning acquisition). The FWHM of a monochromatic line is close to 3 pixel by using binning 2x2. This is a correct sampling, close to the optimum (3.2 to 3.5 pixels) in terms of detectability (remember that the minimal required sampling is of 2 pixels per FWHM). But correction of cosmetic defauts (cosmic rays, hot pixels) is more difficult in binning 2x2. Processing noise can be also more present (induced by geometric distorsion correction algorithm). Butn this spatial noise generated by ISIS seems low, including 2x2 binning operation mode. You need to evaluate for yourself the best result by trials (the result may depend on your observation conditins and the method of data reduction).

Spectrum of star alpha Gem obtained by using binning 1x1 mode. Note that ISIS connects very well different orders in a single spectrum.

Another example eShel spectrum of hot star (Regulus) made with the camera Atik460EX in 1x1 binning. The photometry of the continuum is restitued, with a natural look.

The following images are raw images of the 28 Tau star spectrum observed with different instruments, but with the same exposure time:



Lhires III 2400 l/mm grating spectrograph on Celestron 9.25 (D = 0.235 m). Slit 23 microns. Camera Atik460EX,  2x2 binning. One shot exposure of 300 seconds. CCD temperature = -10C. Date: 22/11/2011. Resolution power R = 17000. Numerical counts number in continuum and in a bin width of 1 pixel (9.08 microns): 10800 ADU.
 

 



eShel spectrograph on Celestron 11 (D = 0280 m). Camera QSI-532 1x1 binning. One shot exposure of 300 seconds. CCD temperature = -20C. Date: 28/08/2011. Resolution power R = 11000. Numerical counts number in continuum and in a bin width of 1 pixel (6.8 microns): 5260 ADU.


 



eShel spectrograph on Celestron 9.25 (D = 0.235 m). Camera Atik460EX 2x2 binning. One shot exposure of 300 seconds. CCD temperature = -5C. Date: 1/12/2012. Resolution power R = 11000. Numerical counts
number in continuum and in a bin width of 1 pixel (9.08 microns): 9300 ADU.
 

Spectra on the left and on the right in this figure were made with the same telescope and the same CCD camera. At left, the Lhires III spectrograph operates at its maximum resolution (R = 17000) and right, the spectrograph is a eShel at R= 11000. Apparently, the measured signal appears neighbor in both cases (10800 ADU and 9300 ADU respectively). However, the sampling of Lhires III spectrum is 0.12 A/pixel and 0.18 A/pixel for the eShel configuration. So, finally Lhires III spectrograph showed 1.7 times more signal. Beware though, this type of comparison is fragile because potential errors. Depending on the seeing (turbulance) or atmosphere transmission, the result may strongly varied (a factor of two is not surprising). In this analysis, for example, the spectrum acquired with the eShel + Atik460EX was conducted under relatively poor in terms of seeing - it be possible to do better.

Comparison of the spectral profile of the 28 Tau obtained with the three instruments described above. The processing is performed with the ISIS software.
Basically, the apparent signal to noise ratio is similar for the three examples.

For comparison, it should be noted that the spectral resolution of Lhires III 2400 l / mm spectrograph is substantially higher than the other two, which handicaps in terms of signal to noise ratio. If the spectral resolution of Lhires III is certainly higher, here, the spectral coverage of the eShel spectrograph is much higher as shown in the following graph:

Comparison of the full spectra recorded with eShel and Lhires III 2400 l/mm.

The following graph shows the performance comparison between Lhires III 2400 l/mm and eShel with the same telescope (C9) and the same camera (Atik460EX) on a faint object, AZ Cas (more details here about the star), R magnitude = 8.2 and V magnitude = 9.4. In both cases, the cumulated exposure time is 2 hours and the observation is made on the same night.

Spectrum of the star AZ Cas taken with a Lhires III at R = 17000 and with an eShel at R = 11000. In both cases,
the camera is an Atik460EX model (CCD temperature -10C with Lhires and -5C with eShel). The performance of eShel + Atik460EX association
is honest despite the weakness of the star. We must also emphasize the smallness of the telescope (D = 235 mm).



eShel spectrum of AZ Cas taken by using a Celestron 11 (D = 0. 280 m) and an Atik460EX camera in 1x1 binning mode (8 x 600 sec. exposusre time).

Full spectrum of AZ Cas observed with a spectrograph Lhires III and eShel 2400 the December 2, 2012.

Here, some key parameters for compute detectivity for 3 Atik460EX cameras (you can evaluation dispersion in function of the serial number) - the measure prtocol is described here :

Atik460EX - serial number 31229-60

Temperature

Gain

Readout noise

Thermal charges rate

-5C

0.266 e-/ADU

5.4 e-

0.0028 e-/s

-10C

0.265 e-/ADU

5.3 e-

0.0008 e-/s

-20C

0.265 e-/ADU

5.3 e-

0.0002 e-/s

Atik460EX - serial number 31241-90

Temperature

Gain

Readout noise

Thermal charges rate

-5C

0.264 e-/ADU

5.2 e-

0.0034 e-/s

-10C

0.263 e-/ADU

5.1 e-

0.0011 e-/s

-20C

0.263 e-/ADU

5.0 e-

0.0004 e-/s

Atik460EX - serial number31245-99

Temperature

Gain

Readout noise

Thermal charges rate

-5C

0.280 e-/ADU

6.1 e-

0.0027 e-/s

-10C

0.279 e-/ADU

5.8 e-

0.0007 e-/s

-20C

0.276 e-/ADU

5.3 e-

0.0007 e-/s

In conclusion, an eShel spectrograph equipped with an Atik460EX camera model appears as an option technically valid and effective.


Back

Evaluation de l'utilisation d'une caméra Atik460EX sur un spectrographe eShel

English version


eShel est un spectrographe de type échelle fabriqué par la société Shelyak. Il autorise un pouvoir de résolution de R = 11000 (rappel, le pouvoir de résolution est le rapport de la longueur d'onde où on observe par la largeur spectrale du plus fin détail à cette longueur d'onde). Le spectrographe est interfacé au télescope via une fibre optique de 50 microns de diamètre. Voir ici une revue de ce spectrographe.

L'objectif optique de la caméra de ce spectrographe (objectif de chambre) est une optique Canon de 85 mm de focale ouverte à f/1,8. Traditionnellement, le détecteur pour ce spectrographe est la caméra QSI-532 (société QSI). Dans ce cas, le capteur CCD est le modèle Kodak KAF-3200ME. Ce dernier comporte 2184 x 1472 pixels de 6,8 microns. Un fort intérêt de ce composant est son rendement quantique très élevé, de l'ordre de 80% vers 656 nm. Le bruit de lecture, très déterminant pour la performance en spectrographie, est de l'ordre de 12 électrons RMS. L'usage de la caméra QSI-532 dans le contexte du spectrographe eShel est décrit ici.

La caméra QSI-532 à trois inconvénients clairement identifiés :

- prix d'achat élevé ;

- un capteur présentant un bruit de lecture relativement fort (le bon standard est plutôt que quelques électrons de bruit plutôt que la dizaine d'électrons) ;

- un fort effet de rémanence ("lag" en anglais).

Une solution possible de substitution pour la détection consiste à utiliser le capteur Sony ICX694AL. La clef de ce choix est que ledit capteur a une taille suffisante pour saisir les ordres de diffraction avec le recouvrement suffisant pour construire un spectre complet sans trou. La surface sensible comporte 2749 x 2199 pixels de 4,54 microns. La taille du capteur Sony ICX694AL est légèrement inférieure à celle du Kodak KAF-3200ME (12,5 mm x 10,0 mm pour 14,8 mm x 10,3 mm), mais suffisante pour notre besoin.


Une caméra Atik460EX monté sur le spectrographe eShel.

Par rapport au détecteur Kodak, le détecteur Sony présente les avantages suivants :

- faible coût. On trouve ce capteur Sony dans la caméra Aik460EX (marque Atik). C'est sur cette caméra que repose notre test d’évaluation ;

- faible bruit de lecture, de l'ordre de 5 électrons ;

- absence totale de rémanence ;

- pas besoin d'obturateur mécanique (le capteur a structure interligne, dispose d'un obturateur électronique).

En contrepartie, le rendement quantique à 656 nm du capteur Sony est évalué à 65% (80% pour le Kodak). Cependant le faible bruit de lecture compense ce déficit en terme de détectabilité. En outre, dans le bleu, le rendement quantique du capteur Sony égale, voir dépasse, celui du capteur Kodak. Voir ici les caractéristiques électro-optiques détaillées de ces composants.

Dans la situation spécifique de la caméra Atik460EX, le refroidissement du capteur est modeste. Le système Peltier n'autorise qu'un DT de 26°C seulement (par exemple, si la température ambiante est de +20°C, il ne sera pas facile d’atteindre sur le détecteur une température inférieure à -5C). Fort heureusement, le taux de charge thermique est assez faible dans le détecteur Sony.

La taille des pixels natifs dans la caméra Atik460EX est petite (4,54 microns). Si le spectre est acquis en binning 1x1, celui-ci est fortement sur-échantillonné. Ce mode d’acquisition au pas natif pixel est un gage de bonne restitution photométrique et spectrale (étalonnage). C'est un bonus - voir plus loin. Mais la pleine efficacité de cette caméra s'exprime vraiment en principe lorsqu'on l'utilise en binning 2x2, car la surface collectrice du pixel est alors multipliée par 4 alors que le bruit lecture est inchangé. La taille « virtuelle » des pixels est dans ce cas de 9,08 microns et l'échantillonnage du spectre dans cette situation est d'environ 0,18 A/pixel dans le rouge (0,12 A/pixel dans le bleu). Le FWHM (largeur à mi-hauteur) d'une raie monochromatique est de 3,2 pixels environ vers 656 nm, ce qui nous permet d'être encore nettement au-dessus de l'échantillonnage critique de Nyquist (FWHM de 2 pixels).

Les difficultés inhérentes à ce choix de caméra sont en fin de compte :

- Une trace des ordres très étroite, de l'ordre de 4,5 pixels suivant l'axe vertical de l'image. Cela oblige à être très rigoureux lors de la correction de la réponse instrumentale (correction de la fonction de blaze). Il faut vraiment associer un jeu d'images d'étalonnage à chaque objet associé, avec un court temps entre les prises de vues afin de réduire les dérives temporelles du spectrographe (effet thermoélastique). L'enjeu est de restituer un bon continuum (avec une bonne précision photométrique relative).

- L'écart inter-ordre est de seulement 17 pixels environ dans le rouge. Cela ne facilite pas l'évaluation du fond noir inter-ordre lors du traitement des spectres.

La bonne nouvelle est que le facteur remplissage des pixels élémentaires est sûrement assez proche de 100% malgré l'organisation interligne du capteur. La raison probable est la présence d'un système de microlentilles devant les pixels particulièrement efficace. On pouvait craindre un bruit structurel dans les profils spectraux générés compte tenu de l'énorme distorsion dans les images spectrales de départ. Il n'en est rien et c'est un résultat important de ce test.


Atik460EX - CCD ICX694AL
Pixel size = 4.58 µm


QSI 532 - CCD KAF-3200ME
Pixel size = 6.8 µm


Atik460EX - CCD ICX694AL
Pixel size = 9.08 µm (binning 2 x 2)


Aspect du spectre de la lampe thorium-argon en fonction de la caméra utilisée. A gauche, la caméra Atik460EX utilisée en binning 1x1. On note que le diamètre de la fibre optique est nettement résolu. La facteur de sur-échantillonnage est élevé (Le FWHM est couvert couvert par 6,0 pixels envon, soit 3 fois la période de Nyqusit). Au centre, le spectre obtenu avec la caméra QSI-532. A droite, le spectre donné par la caméra Atik460EX exploitée en binning 2x2.

La question du facteur de binning optimal ce pose (1x1 ou 2x2). Indiscutablement, le binning 2x2 donne une détectabilité brute maximale si on considère uniquement le bruit de lecture (gain de 1,4 environ en terme de rapport signal sur bruit relativement à une acquisition en binning 1x1). Le FWHM (largeur à mi-hauteur) des raies monochromatique est voisin de 3 pixels en binning 2x2. C'est un échantillonnage correct, voisin de l'optimum (3,2 à 3,5 pixels) en matière de détectabilité (on rappelle que l'échantillonnage requis minimum est de 2 pixels par FWHM). Cependant, la sensibilité aux défauts cosmétique (rayons cosmiques, point chauds résiduels) est plus élevée en binning 2x2 qu'en binning 1x1, et plus difficile à traiter. Le bruit de traitement (bruit associées aux interpolations de l'image nécessaires pour corriger les distorsions géométriques) peut aussi être supérieur en binning 2x2, encore que celui-ci soit jugé faible dans le cas du logiciel ISIS. Pour trancher définitivement, il faut réaliser des essais comparatifs par vous même car le résultat peut dépendre des conditions d'observation et de réduction des données.

Spectre de l'étoile alpha Gem obtenu en binning 1x1. On notera que le logiciel ISIS raccorde très bien les différents ordres en un spectre unique.



Autre exemple de spectre eShel d'étoile chaude (Régulus) réalisé avec la caméra Atik460EX en binning 1x1. La photométrie du continuum est bien restitué,
avec un profil d'allure naturelle.

Les images ci-après sont des images brutes du spectre de l'étoiles 28 Tau, observée avec divers instruments, mais avec le même temps de pose :


Spectrographe Lhires III avec réseau 2400 traits/mm sur Celestron 9.25 (D = 0.235 m). Fentre de 23 microns. Caméra Atik460EX binning 2x2. Pose unique de 300 secondes. Température CCD = -10°C. Date : 22 / 11 / 2012. Pouvoir de résolution R = 17000. Nombres de compte numériques dans le continuum dans un bin de 1 pixel de large (9,08 microns) : 10800 ADU.

 


Spectrographe eShel sur Celestron 11 (D = 0.280 m). Caméra QSI-532 binning 1x1. Pose unique de 300 secondes. Température CCD = -20°C. Date : 28 / 08 / 2011. Pouvoir de résolution R = 11000. Nombres de compte numériques dans le continuum dans un bin de 1 pixel de large (6,8 microns) : 5260 ADU.
 

 


Spectrographe eShel sur Celestron 9.25 (D = 0.235 m). Caméra Atik460EX binning 2x2. Pose unique de 300 secondes. Température CCD = -5°C. Date : 1 / 12 / 2012. Pouvoir de résolution R = 11000. Nombres de compte numériques dans le continuum dans un bin de 1 pixel de large (9,08 microns) : 9300 ADU.
 

Les spectres de gauche et de droite dans cette figure ont été réalisés avec le même télescope et la même caméra CCD. En revanche, à gauche on exploite un spectrographe Lhires III utilisé pratiquement à sa résolution maximale, et à droite, le spectrographe est un eShel. En apparence, le signal mesuré semble voisin dans les deux cas (10800 ADU et 9300 ADU respectivement). Cependant, l'échantillonnage du spectre est de 0,12 A/pixel dans la configuration Lhires III et de 0,18 A/pixel dans la configuration eShel. Au final le spectrographe Lhires III a enregistré 1,7 fois plus de signal environ. Attention cependant, ce type de comparaison est fragile, car entaché d'erreurs potentielles. En fonction du seeing (turbulence) ou de la transmission de l’atmosphère, le résultat peut fortement varié (un facteur deux n'est pas surprenant). Dans cette analyse par exemple, le spectre eShel acquis avec la caméra Atik460EX a été réalisée dans des conditions assez médiocres en terme de seeing – il être possible de faire mieux.

Comparaison du profil spectral de l'étoile 28 Tau obtenu avec les trois instruments décrits ci-avant. Le traitement est réalisé avec le logiciel ISIS.
En gros, le rapport signal sur bruit apparent est voisin pour les trois exemples.

Dans la comparaison ci-devant, il faut souligner que la résolution spectrale du spectrographe Lhires III 2400 l/mm est sensiblement supérieure aux deux autres, ce qui le handicape en terme de rapport signal sur bruit. Si la résolution spectrale du Lhires III est certes ici supérieure, la couverture spectrale du spectrographe eShel est simultanément bien supérieure comme le montre le graphe suivant :

Comparaison des spectres complet enregistré eShel et Lhires III 2400 l/mm.

Le graphe suivant montre la performance comparée entre un Lhires III 2400 t/mm et un spectrographe eShel, avec le même télescope (C9) et la même caméra (Atik460EX) sur un objet faible, AZ Cas (pour plus details sur cette étoile, cliquer ici), de magnitude R = 8,2 et de magnitude V = 9,4. Dans les deux cas, le temps de pose cumulé est de 2 heures et l'observation est faite la même nuit.

Spectre de l'étoile AZ Cas réalisé avec un Lhires III à la résolution de R = 17000 et avec un spectrographe eShel à la résolution de R = 11000.
Dans les deux cas, la caméra est une Atik460EX (température CCD de -10°C avec le Lhires et de -5°C avec le eShel).
La performance du spectrographe du couple eShel + Atik460EX est honnète malgré la faiblesse de l'étoile. On doit aussi souligner la petitesse du télescope (D = 235 mm).



Spectre eShel de l'étoile AZ Cas obtenu avec un Celestron 11 (D = 0. 280 m) et une caméra Atik460EX exploitée en binning 1x1 (temps de pose de 8 x 600 s).

Spectre complet de l'étoile AZ Cas observé avec un spectrographe Lhires III 2400 et un spectrographe eShel le 2 décembre 2012.

Voici les paramètres utiles pour calculer la détectivités, mesurés sur 3 caméras Atik460EX (on peut juger aussi la dispersion des paramètres en fonction de l'exemplaire) - le protocole de mesure est écrit ici :

Atik460EX - numéro de série 31229-60

Température

Gain

Bruit de lecture

Taux de charges thermiques

-5°C

0.266 e-/ADU

5.4 e-

0.0028 e-/s

-10°C

0.265 e-/ADU

5.3 e-

0.0008 e-/s

-20°C

0.265 e-/ADU

5.3 e-

0.0002 e-/s

Atik460EX - numéro de série 31241-90

Température

Gain

Bruit de lecture

Taux de charges thermiques

-5°C

0.264 e-/ADU

5.2 e-

0.0034 e-/s

-10°C

0.263 e-/ADU

5.1 e-

0.0011 e-/s

-20°C

0.263 e-/ADU

5.0 e-

0.0004 e-/s

Atik460EX - numéro de série 31245-99

Température

Gain

Bruit de lecture

Taux de charges thermiques

-5°C

0.280 e-/ADU

6.1 e-

0.0027 e-/s

-10°C

0.279 e-/ADU

5.8 e-

0.0007 e-/s

-20°C

0.276 e-/ADU

5.3 e-

0.0007 e-/s

En conclusion, équiper un spectrographe eShel d'une caméra type Atik460EX apparait comme une option techniquement valide et efficace.


Retour